The Authors

Richard M. Martin is Emeritus Professor at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, and Consulting Professor at Stanford University. He has made extensive contributions to the field of modern electronic structure methods and the theory of interacting electron systems and and he is the author of the companion book Electronic Structure: Basic Theory and Methods. Personal website.
Lucia Reining is CNRS senior researcher at the Ecole Polytechnique Palaiseau and founding member of the European Theoretical Spectroscopy Facility. Her work covers many-body perturbation theory and time-dependent density functional theory; she is a recipient of the CNRS Silver Medal and a Fellow of the American Physical Society. Personal website.
David M. Ceperley is a Founder Professor, a Center for Advanced Studies Professor and a Blue Waters Professor at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, where he has pioneered the quantum Monte Carlo method, including the development of variational, diffusion and path integral Monte Carlo. He is a member of the US National Academy of Sciences and recipient of the Rahman Prize for Computational Physics of the APS and the Feenberg Medal for many-body physics. Personal website.